Tags

, , , , , ,

Along this journey, I have had the opportunity to meet some pretty amazing families. Families that inspire me and drive my passion. Each and everyone touching me in different ways, helping me to be a better person.

This latest family was no exception.  To be quite honest, I did not expect to be affected in such an emotional way, but this young boy has captured my heart and I have just fallen in love with him and his incredible spirit.

I would like to introduce you to Eduardo.

Eduardo has been braving the challenges of EB for eleven years. That is eleven years of pain and suffering…eleven years of bandages and blisters. He has seen more pain in his short life than any of us will ever know and yet he just keeps smiling this beautiful smile. Eduardo’s skin certainly shows the evidence of his pain and the effect that EB has had, his eyes however are full of wonder and HOPE. Those beautiful eyes captivated me and stole my heart.  As did his tremendous gratitude.  Despite everything he has endured, he continues to be thankful…really an amazing and beautiful thing.

Eduardo is currently at recovering from his bone marrow transplant at the University of Minnesota Amplatz Children’s Hospital, where I picked him up last Friday.  Normally when I am meeting families, they are families with a baby who has EB. I rarely have the chance to spend time with someone older, someone who can articulate their pain in such a profound way.  Never once did he complain, he just expressed himself in such a way, his attitude was so powerful.

When I left Ronald McDonald House, I  had some much needed perspective.  Meeting with Eduardo was indeed a reminder to appreciate every single moment and embrace it with gratitude.  We take so many things for granted and yet here is this boy who suffers day in and day out and he is nothing but thankful for his day.

I am not sure if Eduardo will ever know the depths of his impact on me, but I am so grateful. I felt so much joy being with him and he gave me some pretty beautiful gifts that day. I would love nothing more than to be able to give him an incredible gift this Christmas.

Eduardo will be spending Christmas in Minnesota, away from his family and I would love to send some joy his way.  Would you join me in making his Christmas bright by filling his Christmas tree with ornaments from all over?  You can send any ornament you wish.  Or you can also place an order at www.personalizedfree.com and use the code PUCK to have a portion of the proceeds donated to the research that is helping to give Eduardo a better life.  You can ship ornaments or any gift directly to Eduardo Romero. 621 Oak Street SE, Minneapolis, MN 55414

If you are in Minnesota, you can meet Eduardo at this years Wings of Hope benefit on December 1, 2012.  You will also hear Quinn’s story from her dad Marc Seymour, Trisha Knuth will be sharing Charlie’s amazing journey, and Dr. Tolar will also be presenting.  It is sure to be nothing short of inspirational.  Please feel free to send me an email if you have any questions christie@puckfund.org

